Bacta’s new National Council marches to a drumbeat of deliverables

Last week’s inaugural meeting of bacta’s new look 11-person National Council was an historic moment in the history of the UK trade association, according to chief executive John White.
The meeting opened a new chapter in bacta’s 49-year history and set-out roles and responsibilities including the formation of sub-committees covering Remuneration and Staff, Finance, and Nominations. The meeting also explored strategies to eliminate bacta’s deficit and consulting with members on what they want from their trade body.
Reflecting on the meeting John White said: “One of the key objectives of the restructure was to make the strategic shift of transforming National Council into a body that’s more akin to a company’s Board of Directors with Council members bringing their individual specialisms and expertise to assist bacta address the issues and opportunities facing the organisation and its members.”
He added: “Tasks were assigned to individual Council members with report backs actioned to be presented at the next National Council meeting. There was a tangible energy in the meeting, a shared purpose, a sense of impatience and a determination to complete tasks, achieve objectives and move on to the next challenge.
“The new look National Council is full of talented industry people and their insight and experience will most certainly augment bacta’s successful record of representation.”
The make-up of bacta’s National Council comprises Peter Davies (Inspired Leisure Division), Tony Boulton (MERKUR UK), Elizabeth Speed (Novomatic UK), Dean Harding (Harry Levy Amusements), Jonathan Lauder (UDC) and Jeremy Godden (Godden Gaming Organisation). The six who were elected from the Amusement and Gaming Councils have joined bacta National President John Bollom, Vice-President Joseph Cullis and former National Presidents Nick Harding, Greg Wood, and James Miller.